Make it fun!

Standard

Find yourself a good book a lose yourself in it! Silly voices, silly faces, sound effects… add them all. No kid ever grew up and said ‘I wish my dad had used a sensible voice when he read to me’. EVER.  I’d go as far as to say that the bolder you are, the fonder the memories.  I’m sharing here a video of Michael Rosen reading We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, because it makes me smile and join in.

I really loved listening to my dad reading to me. A teacher by trade, he was really a frustrated Python (not the snake variety) and he brought the best of these to his bedtime stores, always full of humour and always memorable. In fact, when we were discussing his funeral he told me that if I wasn’t there that he would ‘need a note from your mum’. Funny guy.

 

Leave a Reply

